Science Fair Project Step by Step Photo Instructions

I’ve created many step by step science fair instructions to help parents and students make easier, better science fair projects. All of these are original experiments designed by me (a teacher) and my husband (a science professor).

Along with including complete instructions, I give videos which help kids understand the scientific concepts and photos to show you how to do the experiment and put the board together.  I’m adding new experiments all time time so you may want to bookmark and check back.

Parent Help for Science Fair Projects

Here is my overview of doing a science fair experiment and board (with help for parents and teachers):

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-do-a-Great-Science-Fair-Project-and-Board

Here is a beginning experiment which also shows parents how to help their kids do an experiment.  This one is also very good for classroom instruction in science experiments and I tell you how to do it:

Which Boat Can Float?  Foil boats on water in different shapes (teaches water surface tension and buoyancy):

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Elementary-Science-Fair-Projects-Which-Boat-Can-Float

Which Chewing Gum lasts the longest?

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Fair-Project-Which-Gum-Lasts-the-Longest

Which Chocolate Chip tastes the Best?

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Fair-Project-Which-Chocolate-Chip-Tastes-the-Best

Dice Rolling and Probability

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Fair-Rolling-Dice-Experiment

Arches and Domes? How many books can eggshells hold? Can you make a sugar cube arch without glue?

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Fair-Project-How-Many-Books-can-Eggshells-Hold

For upper elementary, Junior High and High School:

Growing Microbes on Potato Sucrose Gelitan

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Fair-Project-Growing-Microbes

How does Salt Affect Seed Germination?

My daughter’s prize winning experiment on how radish seeds react to salt water:

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/Science-Project-How-Does-Salt-Affect-Seed-Germination

12 thoughts on “Science Fair Project Step by Step Photo Instructions

  1. My son is interested in doing the skittles color science experiment. DO you have some sort of directions for that? I can see some of it by the picture but was hoping for more specifics. Thanks

  2. Hi Carla–that project is actually not one that my children did so I don’t have I don’t have detailed instructions like I do for some of our science projects, but I did do a similar type experiment when I taught school. The question is something like: Are there the same number of each color of Skittles in a bag? To do the experiment, you guess at whether there are the same number or not and I usually have students guess how many of each number. Then you just open the bag, sort and count. This makes a nice colored graph. Then compare the results with your guess (hypothesis) and speculate why you got that answer. For older kids, I’d have them try it with several bags, and maybe with different sized bags and maybe have them work out the percentages of each color. If you want to do research, you may have the kids look to find out if there is a company formula for how many of each color go in a bag. The M & M Mars factory that makes Skittles is down the street from our school district, so I think that the student who did this science project actually contacted someone who works there. Your child could try an email to a company. By the way, this same project idea works for M&Ms and other colored candies.

  3. The skittles color science had nothing to do with what you assumed. It was about which liquid would dissolve the dye on the candy the fastest! You should have checked out the experiment prior to borrowing (stealing) the image!!!!

  4. Amanda you are correct that I should have looked more carefully into the experiment before replying to the last question but I did not, and never do, “steal images.” That is my own photo and that is my daughter in the front of it. The photo was taken at one of the science fairs that I co-ordinated at my children’s school. Everyone liked this project which to my recollection was as I stated below. I did not pull up the image on my computer and enlarge it to try to read it. Most of my images are of my own children’s projects. I was actually going to have my youngest daughter do a project like this with M&Ms this year just because it does make such a colorful board.

  5. i like this experiment and my daughter issuper interested in doing it but youonly showed the picture you didnt give us directions.and you just said your daughter did this so can we hav the directions?itlooks really fun and all the colors on it are just a plus!!

  6. Hi Dominique–the Skittles experiment is not one done by my kids. I just took this picture of my child looking at it. My memory was that this involved sorting the skittles into colors to see what percentage each color was in the bag. I’ve seen many experiments like that over the years, usually involving M&Ms. However, as another person commented, that actually isn’t what this experiment is about. It is about what liquid dissolves the Skittles fastest. I found that out by zooming in on the picture. If you want directions, then I’d suggest you do the same.
    I do provide very detailed instructions for lots of science experiments on my HubPages site. I moved them over there because I can add video, tables and a lot better detail than I can on my blog. I also give instructions on how parents can help with a science experiment and how to put your science fair board together. Several people have written that their children have gotten first prize in a science fair using my projects.

  7. Hi Dominique i am thinking about doing this project this year is there any chance you could tell me what grade level this project is on

  8. Hi Rere–This project is appropriate for middle to upper elementary–from 3rd (with a lot of parent help) to 6th.

  9. Hey blessedmomof5 I am doing this as my project this year and was wondering what category would it be considered and what part of the project would give me the chance of placing

  10. Cloe–I’m not sure which project you are talking about. See HubPages for the instructions for the projects.

Leave a Reply

