Small things are sometimes Big Things

Standard

(Thanks to those of you who told me you like my novel and I should keep going.  I appreciate your comments and am making a goal to write at least one “novel” post each week–although I hope all my posts are somewhat novel.)

My first layout using a template!

     Digital Scrapbooking is my newest craft/artistic outlet.  My husband has been urging me to go digital for a couple of years and I finally decided to try to learn last summer.  Sometimes, I’ve been extremely frustrated when I haven’t managed to do one simple thing after an hour of work.  However, I’ve gotten better and after being totally discouraged once again last night at being unable to figure out how to use layout templates (in spite of reading the instructions several times), I read through a digital scrapbooking instruction book  my friend Carrie Lynn had given to me. I found the missing step!  I needed to put the picture ON TOP of the template and then press Ctrl-G on the PICTURE, not the template.  Small gaffes in following directions had completely foiled my previous attempts.

     Missing steps, following directions, sweating on the small stuff.  Sometimes I think that my life is full of doing a lot of mindless repetitive things, but then there are moments when I realize that these small things are more important than I realize.

This evening, Christopher and I were picking up our Honda from the repair shop. While we were waiting, we couldn’t help but overhear the man at the counter speaking to the woman in front of us. 

     “I’m sorry miss, I don’t want you to keep on pouring money into this car.  I think you need to get a new one.”

       Pursing her brow, the elegantly dressed woman seemed both dismayed and suspicious, “I don’t see that it would be cheaper to get a new car.  I mean, there must be something that can be done to keep this one running.”

     The auto repairman seemed concerned, but he didn’t back down from his advice, which after all wasn’t helping his balance books any, “I’m sorry but I don’t want you to pour good money after bad.”

     The woman didn’t budge and we could hear the anger in her voice,  “I don’t see why you can’t fix this car.  It has to be cheaper to fix than replace.  I have two kids in college.  I really wanted to keep this car.”

     “I’ll get him to talk to you,” the repairman turned and went into the shop.

     There was an awkward silence as another man finished his paperwork and came over to help us.  While my husband gave him our information and paid.  I felt the need to say something to the woman.  “I’m really sorry about your car,” I said. 

     She went on to say more about her children in college and how she had just wrecked another car and needed to keep this one.  The man helping us added a comment about kids in college and my husband said something too.  As we left, I just said, “I’m so sorry you have this problem.”

     Walking outside, my husband stopped me before we headed to our separate cars.  “Thank you,” he said.

     “What?”  I asked puzzled.

     “It is good to have a woman around.  There were three men in there feeling very uncomfortable and not knowing what to do.  You did.”

Small things are sometimes big things.  

 

Brendan's 11 Birthday--Lego Agent

6 responses »

  1. First, I love your novel. I think certain parts of it are a bit more informational than story-telling, but I think it is great that you can combine them into something that still captures attention. I can’t wait to read more! And secondly, I love your creativity in your digital scrapbooking and the way that you see larger lessons in the smallest events. Most of all, I just love you, and I’m glad to have found your blog!

    PS: reading about your thoughts as a mom makes me want to be a mom! 🙂

  2. Hi Carrie! You are absolutely right about the didactic parts. I was just writing down some things I wanted to communicate but haven’t woven them into a story yet.
    I’ve loved reading your blog too and I’m so glad to get to see your life in more detail. I’m so glad you want to be a mom–you will be a fantastic one! Yet, I think that most women ought to wait until their late twenties at the earliest, if God allows that. At that point, I think a woman is more ready for the sacrifice of motherhood, and won’t feel the loss of her freedom quite the same way. For now, you are mom to an awful lot of orphans–I love the way that you and Jacob really do try to do things for the kids that make them feel special and loved. You are really preparing them for their forever families.

  3. Hi, Carrie!! I’m very interested in your novel, as I also have two daughters from China – I received the eldest in Nanning! I did want to ask if you’re familiar with the http://chinadigitalscrapbooks.com forum, where over 500 adoptive Moms to Chinese (or any Asian country) and bio children “meet” to digiscrap and learn. We’d love to have you!! I would not be digiscrapping today without the support and guidance of this group… since June 2006 I’ve created over 500 pages, and am even on a Creative Team at Weeds&Wildflowers – something I could never have dreamed of!! I’m adding your blog to my Google Reader.. can’t wait to read more of your novel! Regards, Sheri

  4. Hi Sheri–actually my name is Virginia (Carrie is one of my good friends who is working with her husband in an orphanage in China–you have to check out her blog which is on my site–Carrie and Jacob). I have just learned from an adoptive friend here about chinadigitalscrapbooks and did sign up but haven’t yet made it to the site. I understad they have restructured under Asiadigital scrapbooks recently. I actually did TWO 150 page albums of traditional scrapbooking for my oldest adopted daughter, one about my trip and another about China, her orphanage and her first year of life. My second adoptive daughter and my birth daughter of that age did not get quite such a grand treatment. However, the digital lifebook I made for my second adopted daughter is actually more of a real lifebook. I am fairly new to digital scrapbooking and have not entirely given up traditional. I will certainly have to check out Weeds&Wildflowers! I’m glad to have met you online!

  5. Oops, my bad, I’m so sorry, Virginia!! Bit of explanation on the forums: the ChinaDigitalScrapbooks.com forum is entirely different from the AsiaLifeBooks.com forum, altho many people (including me!) on CDS work on Lifebooks, and there are many layouts of lifebooks among the almost 10,000 layouts currently posted by members in the CDS gallery… ALB includes both traditional, mixed-media and digiscrappers and focuses only on Lifebooks. ALB morphed from the ChinaLifebooks yahoo group a couple of months ago; CDS was a spin-off yahoo roup from the ChinaLifebooks yahoo group for about 10 months, then morphed into a forum in March 2007. The forum platform allows a lot more flexibility, threaded comments, HUGE gallery space, etc. Both forums have a $5 entry fee; CDS’s entry fee is one-time only, to cover costs of hosting and forum software, and spam protection, etc. In return, you receive a slew of digiscrap freebies – it’s the best $5 you’ll ever spend, believe me!! Thanks to CDS, I’ve nearly completed my younger daughter’s LB – it’s ~85 pages. Still working on DD#1’s book. I could never ever EVER have completed even one LB using traditional means, so I’m so thankful I found digiscrapping.

    You can find my gallery at http://www.weedsandwildflowersdesign.com/ under the name “akindofmagick” – altho the layouts there are exclusively made using W&W products, so not necessarily reflective of what I consider my “best” work. The latest craze to have swept the digiscrap community is “Project 365” – take a photo a day for a whole year… so far I haven’t missed any days!!

    FWIW, I’m a native Texan (b. Texas City) and a graduate of Texas A&M … and I’m also a writer and sometime poet (less so these last 5 years!!) so we have more in common than just our daughters!! Oh – and my grandmother’s name was Virginia!! hehehe!!

    Glad to have “met” you, too!!

  6. Thanks for the information Sheri! I will definitely need to get on board there. I checked out your blog–your youngest in one picture looked a lot like mine! I actually thought that I was going to be a single mom with adopted kids and one of my dear friends here is just that–she just got back with her third. I also checked out W & W and will definitely go back. I like the style of the products. I’ll have to check out your gallery. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

