Originality

Standard

our-original-maggie-at-13-copy1

 I must confess that I like to be original, but I’ve never been one to start a fashion trend.  At best, I just tried to look inconspicuous.  However,  I started wearing mostly skirts and tops a couple of years ago when I found out that I needed to wear support hose.  At first, it was just a practical move.  Most of the year in central Texas it is warm and you either wear shorts or skirts.  I couldn’t wear knee-high support hose with shorts, so skirts won out.   Initially, I was a little embarrassed, but then I grew to like wearing feminine attire, and I actually found it to be cooler in our sweltering summers.   Nevertheless, it wasn’t until a friend at church described me as always wearing “long flowing skirts” that I began to think about the fact that I was making a fashion statement.  I guess there is a first time for everything.

    On the other hand, my eldest daughter is always coming up with her own style.  She was wearing bandannas around her head to school until they made that a violation of dress code.  Now she wears braids every day.  What most pleases me, though, is that she is also original in her thinking and actions.  She doesn’t follow the crowd if she thinks the crowd is going the wrong way. 

      It isn’t easy to be original, but I think that is what is required of anyone who seeks to follow God with their whole heart.  Not originality of the outward person, but originality in thought about everything we encounter in our culture.

Leave a Reply

