Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

Now, I have to tell you that before I went to the science fair at my daughters’ school, I thought the reason these cookies always came out right was the Parkay margarine.  Now I’m not sure.  The science experiment tested varying amounts of baking powder/soda.  Sure enough, the cookies came out in all the variety of shapes/crunchiness I have seen in my own cookies.  By “perfect” I mean a soft, mounded up cookie.  If you like the flat, crunchy ones then I think you need to add more baking soda.  I like this recipe because it is easy to remember.  Here it is:

2 sticks of Parkay margarine (if you use butter, the cookies will be crunchy)

2 eggs

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tea. baking soda

1 tea. salt

3 cups flour

Mix the marg., egg, and sugars.  Add the baking soda, salt and flour and mix again.

Add

12 oz. package of chocolate chips (or try butterscotch, peanut butter or M & Ms or a combo).  My favorite chips are the milk chocolate Guittard–they are so yummy.  My least favorite are the Nestles–I usually prefer a store brand over them.

Mound by a TB on greased cookie sheet (or actually, I prefer to use parchment paper, silicon sheet or my new circulon baking pans–no grease needed and they clean up easily)

Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes until golden brown at edges.

Variations: 

        Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies–add 1/2 cup of peanut butter.  You don’t change the other ingredients.

         Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies:  Add 1 1/2 cups oatmeal.  You can reduce the flour by 1/2 cup if you want.  I also often add raisins to these.

Leave a Reply

