1000 and counting

Standard

I can’t believe it.  March 13, 4:30 p.m. my time, my blog got its 1000 visit.  Thanks readers!  Although it may be Friday the 13th, it is a great day for me! Since my blog is less than three months old,  I can hardly believe I’ve had so many hits in that short amount of time. 

My goal in blogging had been to motivate myself to write every day.  Knowing that someone out there would read my blog has been a wonderful incentive to keep it up.  In the process, I’ve been energized to resume my publishing career.  I’ve submitted a devotional and am in the process of writing samples of Sunday School curriculum for two different publishers.  I’m hoping I get an assignment.  In looking up my previous curriculum publisher, Smyth Helwys, I discovered that although they have stopped producing new FaithSteps Sunday School lessons, they are still offering a three-year cycle of their previous materials on CD.  That was very encouraging to me, since I had thought my work for them would not be used.  I’m proud of those lessons and feel that the FaithSteps curriculum is excellent.  However, the Bible-intensive lessons do require the teacher to do more preparation than some other materials.   Having been a substitute Sunday School teacher for the last year, I can understand why that might be a drawback.

Writing the Sunday School lessons is an easy way to get going in a writing career.  Of course I’m also working on the novel, “Finding My Chinese Sister,” which I have published a small part of on this site.  I also have about five chapters of a Christian children’s fantasy novel.  Finally, I’d also like to write a Bible Study titled, “When you Get what you Don’t Deserve.”  The study would focus on some Bible stories we don’t usually study: Saul’s son Jonathan (not David or Saul), Uriah the Hittite, Naomi (not Ruth), and a few others.  The point of the study would be to encourage us to not look at circumstances ,or what other people have done to us, but to focus on the choices we have:  to forgive and to live righteously.  When we stand before the Lord, that is all that will be left anyway. 

I was encouraged by this verse in Zechariah 2:10-12, “‘…For I am coming, and I will live among you,’ declares the Lord.  many nations will be joined with the Lord in that day and will become my people.  I will live among you and you will know that the Lord Almighty has sent me to you.”  God will live among us.  I look forward to the day when I will see Him face to face, and see all of my dear friends as they were created to be, holy, pure, sinless and filled with His love and grace.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Robin! I just visited your blog again. You have such a sweet way of expressing yourself. I certainly hope Andrew follows up on that first date! I was over 30 before I really had a “boyfriend”–now my husband! However, when I was 29 I would not have exactly told you that. I would have been too embarrassed. Now, I am so very glad I didn’t have other dates–just precious ones with the right guy.

  2. oh yay. I can hope. thank you so much. you are so sweet. The reason my blog started was because I had a friend in my apartment complex who also goes to church with me. He asked me and one of my roommates to make a blog so we can express ourselves in every aspect of our lives whether it be school, relationships, apartment life, church, and so on. and I can see you do the same thing. I admire your thoughts so much.

Leave a Reply

