Science Fair Information

Standard

As the co-ordinator of Woodway Elementary Science Fair and as a parent who has helped my kids do science fair projects over the past ten years, I’ve learned a lot about how to make a kid’s science fair project an enjoyable process for everyone.  Originally, I just posted the information I’d made for parents at our school here on my blog, but I’ve gotten thousands of hits, so I know that many people found it useful.  I’ve expanded and moved this information to my Hubpages account.  I include links to good resources as well as lots of pictures of how to do projects and how to make them into a poster.  Here is the link:

http://virginialynne.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-do-a-Great-Science-Fair-Project-and-Board

9 responses »

  1. I was looking for a science fair project for my nephew and I came across this wonderful, sweet and colorful project that I love it.

  2. i love it but where could i get the material and the project stuff that they ask you please tell me god bless you and have a wonderful day…………………………………

  3. So glad you like it. I’m very glad that my children’s school just decided to do the science fair again this year. Since I’ve posted my information on my Hubpages account, I’ve had over 10,000 views. I am in the process of writing some step by step instructions for a number of my own kid’s science experiments on Hubpages. We are very excited that my son has won at Region again so we will be going on to state. Glad that it isn’t only sports that get to have contests and rewards!

  4. i love the way you guys were creative,,i wish i was creative like that when i was in school. you guys did a very good job on the projects
    .

  5. Hi! I love the cookie experiment above and was looking for more information/instructions on this. I also noted that the top of the picture was cut off. Do you have more info on this experiment you can share with us? Thanks!!

  6. That experiment tested using different amounts of baking soda in batches of cookies. It was not one that my kids have done, but we did an experiment that tested what happens when you leave out one ingredient in cupcakes. This is actually a model of what geneticists do when they “knock out” a gene in mice or a plant in order to find out what that gene codes for in the organism. Full instructions are here: http://hubpages.com/education/Fun-Baking-Science-Fair-Project-Instructions

Leave a Reply

